You Do Wear It On Your Head!

In response to learning about tiaras, Marilyn Monroe says, “You DO wear it on your head. I just LOVE finding new places to wear diamonds!”  The line from the 1953 film, “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes,” conveys my EXACT sentiment about dessert. 

Not wearing it of course. But discovering new and wonderful ways to eat it! Finding new varieties candy to try, unique combinations of sweet goodness to pair, new brands, new recipes! Quite exciting, if I do say so myself! 

My most recent discovery has been “Halva.”  I found it at a tiny, local grocery store, where they’re fully stocked with un-homogenized milk, organic bacon-chocolate bars, goat’s milk yogurt and glycerin soaps.

I found them in brownie-bar sized squares.  With the look of something like maple fudge, I was immediately intrigued and asked the woman at the counter what they were.  She told me it was Halva, a sesame seed candy, but to be weary because it was extremely sweet.  I was sold! 

The verdict? Oh man.

Now, at first I was taken a little off guard by its mouth-coating, savory sensation (Shall I dare to say umami?)  It was smooth, but also a little crumby (A bit like the inside of peanut butter cup).  AND, it of course tasted like sesame seed.  Weird. But fascinating and delicious! It’s the kind of thing you where want to take another bite, just to try it again and see what happens. 

I’m going to do a bit more research on this stuff.  I’ve heard tell of other flavors that come from different regions of the Middle East and Asia, like carrot, sunflower seed and yam…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

