Courage Confidence Character….and Cookies.

I was only a Girl Scout for one summer, when I registered in order to go to camp with two friends of mine.  That was the extent of my Girl Scout career.   It was not the extent of my Girl Scout Cookie eating.

 

It appears that Girl Scout Cookie season is upon us.  I know this because there was a table of girls at the exit of the grocery store when I went this weekend, selling their wares.  With glasses and bangs and braces and vests and pigtails and braids, their faces were incredibly familiar.

 

These miniature entrepreneurs reeled me right in.  How could I resist a box?  I mean really, they’re selling an American Icon.  It seems like almost everyone I know has a very strong opinion about Girl Scout cookies.  Do you like the Samoas?  The Tagalongs? And who doesn’t like the Thin Mints?  Personally, I’m a fan of the “old lady variety,” like Trefoils (the shortbread one) and the Lemon Chalet Cremes.   Also, what lovely names for cookies!

 

I never feel very guilty about eating a lot of Girl Scout cookies.  I think this is for various reasons.  1. You don’t get them year-round; 2. Your money went to 8 year old girls, so why not just buy and eat two boxes? ; 3.  The cookies remind me of a time when more cookies were always better and there was no concern with calories, sugar intake or well-rounded eating. 

 

So, I bought the box of Lemon Chalet Cremes and I couldn’t be happier with my purchase.  In fact, I’m enjoying one (or maybe more) with a cup of tea at this very moment.  I highly recommend you doing the same.  Its good for the soul.  

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Courage Confidence Character….and Cookies.

  1. Jules

    I agree 100% with the girl scout entry. I would like to add a related quote.
    “God never slams a door in your face without opening a box of Girl Scout cookies.” – Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat Pray Love

Leave a Reply

