Gee! Egg Cream is Swell!

A couple weeks ago, when exploring a local diner with a friend and inspecting the dessert and milkshake menu, I came across the item, “Egg Cream.”   Now, I’d never heard of Egg Creams before, but was told that they’re a standard East Coast diner beverage, usually consumed by the older crowd.   They were described to me as carbonated, flavored cream…

 

Of course intrigued, I came back the following week with a group of friends to have a tasting.   

 

img_0088

What were they like? Well, they were like carbonated flavor cream, just as my friend had described. The chocolate variety was far superior to the vanilla. It actually reminded me a bit of a melted root-beer float, or a creamy Italian Soda. Why I would want a melted root-beer float-like concoction, rather than a strawberry milkshake or vanilla malt? I’m not too sure.

Nevertheless, there was something nostalgic about them. Like after drinking my egg cream I might go to roller-skating and then listen to some Tommy Dorsey or Benny Goodman records.

It was an enjoyable, little sip into yesteryear.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Gee! Egg Cream is Swell!

  1. kitchendoor

    I should have known you wouldn’t be able to resist anything I described as being specifically for old people.

    I love you.

Leave a Reply

