Mango! Mango! Mango!

Contrary to public belief, I do eat non-dessert food items. Just recently, I went out for Thai food and enjoyed some green curry chicken. Although, while enjoying my green curry chicken, I realized with twinge of curiosity that evolved quickly into a full-blown state of lust, that I’d never really tried any sort of Asian dessert (unless you count a Banana Filled spring roll with chocolate sauce at P.F Chang’s, which I do not).

So, after carefully thought-out consideration of the menu, and forgetting only slightly about my green curry chicken, I ordered the Mango and Sticky Rice dessert. I really didn’t know what to expect.

It was so pretty! (You must excuse my food photography. Food doesn’t photograph to begin with and its even worse when you’re trying to take its picture discreetly in the middle of a restaurant while people stare with puzzled looks.)

img_3321

Even before taking a bite, I knew that ordering dessert had been the right thing to do. There was a brilliantly orange, precisely cut, entire half a mango on the plate, next to a steaming hot mound of sticky rice, covered with sweetened coconut milk.

I hadn’t been expecting the rice to be served hot, but the contrast between the cool, refreshing mango and the creamy, hot rice kept me attentive and interested in my plate from start to finish. The mouth-feel of the rice went well with the rich coconut milk, and those flavors were just right with the sweet, buttery texture of the mango.

It’s a much different concept than American dessert. Instead of feeling slightly gross and overly stuffed (as one tends to after indulging in, let’s say, a double-fudge brownie sundae), I felt almost cleansed by the dessert. The sugar, sweet flavor came mostly from the natural sweetness of the mango and minimally from any sugar added to the rice.

I feel dangerously encouraged by this experience to never restrain my desire to order dessert.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Mango! Mango! Mango!

  1. adri

    I love Mango an sticky rice!! One of my favorites 😉
    Love the blog cuz… I do, however, have to disagree with one small thing, food-photography is amazing!! Just experiment a little more with angles 😉
    ciao bella!! adri

  2. providentiallife

    Ugh. I love it. I am jealous. Let’s make this when I come to visit this summer, k?

  3. kitchendoor

    I love your blog. It makes me hungry all the time.

Leave a Reply

