Eating on the Metro North

IMG_0597

I do not live in New York City.  And no, I’m not planning on moving. I get asked this question a lot and I receive very puzzled reactions – I have a theory that New Yorkers have a pre-Columbian notion that if they pass certain borders they’ll fall off the face of the Earth.

I take the Metro-North to and from the Hudson Valley and I absolutely look forward to the trip.  For a full hour and a half, I am uninterrupted to read, write, sleep or just look out the window at the Hudson River.

I also look forward to the snacks.

Travel, even the shortest journey, is a perfect excuse to eat – It feels indulgent, it’s a way to entertain yourself, and when you’re by yourself you never have to share.

Here are a few of my favorite Metro North Snacks:

  1. Train Beer – Dear Mayor Bloomberg – Take away my salt, limit my consumption of sugary beverages, and label all my foods with calorie counts, but please, please don’t touch my train beer.
  2. A Chocolate Chip Cookie from Zaro’s – They taste like Crisco, but I don’t care. There is definitely some shortening action going on there, but they are also the perfect sugar rush after a long day.
  3. Baguette (straight up) – Generally, I don’t carry a baguette onto the train with the intent to eat the whole thing, but things happens.  There are no really great bread bakeries nearby my house, so sometimes grab one in the city and it doesn’t survive the journey.  I rip off a small piece because I’m hungry and then I realize how perfect it tastes with my Train Beer (see #1), so tear another small piece off…and you understand the cycle.
  4. Samosas  – I am a sucker for a samosa – any samosa from anywhere.  While I avoid the vats of Indian food sitting in lukewarm hotel pans (You don’t have to take ServeSafe to hear bacteria growing), I have eaten samosas from the street vendors in Malaysia to that Indian place in the basement of Grand Central – they are all delicious.  It is hard to go wrong with a deep-fried dumpling.
  5.  A Hot Dog – Don’t judge me food purists who like to know exactly what sort of ground meats they’re consuming.  A hog dog IS New York city.

Junk foods?  Yes.  But they are delicious and make my ride up the Hudson feel like a treat, rather than a commute.  They are the little secret snacks that make me feel like a kid stealing from a cookie jar.  Snack proud and snack happy everyone.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Eating on the Metro North

  1. This is amazing – I would like to eat a hot dog and beer with you on the metro north!

  2. I think I’d hate the early morning commute, but I like the idea of some quiet reading time and snacking time… hmm….

Leave a Reply

