Just Keeping it Down

hp_scanDS_66720402232
Don’t worry. I’m not going to suddenly turn my blog into a dissertation about pregnancy, or mommies, or suddenly take a great interest in mundane household things like finally learning how to fold a fitted bed sheet (I feel at peace with the fact that that’s just never going to happen). Nor will I chronicle the progress of my “bump” on Facebook. I don’t want to see pictures of other people’s stomachs and I certainly don’t want to parade mine around the internet. No one needs to see that – just put it away. These days, my newsfeed is inundated with tiny, fresh humans and contains no more “news” than an aisle of Gerber diapers. Although it’s undeniably wonderful and cute, I nostalgically scroll back to the days when status updates contained more beer than babies.

So I’m not here to share anything gushy, chubby or small. I just want to talk about the food aversions. If you don’t already know me, here are a few facts about me: I love eating. I love cooking. I’m an unapologetic carnivore. The drumstick is my favorite part of the chicken, a full rack of ribs stands no chance of survival in my presence, and I believe that most meals are made better with a pile of pulled pork. Well, at least that’s the champion eater I once knew. Today, I’ve been reduced to a corn puff eating shell of my former self.
michael1mos
The unexpected detail that growing a small creature inside of me would completely alter my previously palate is something I hadn’t fully expected. Chicken nor beef has passed through my lips for the past three months. The smell of beer offends my senses and once beloved barbecue has become the enemy with which one sniff sends me off to the bathroom to cradle the toilet bowl.

It is embarrassing what I willingly drop into a grocery cart. The ungodly amount of popsicles I go through is the least of it. At least those sometimes contain real fruit. It’s the frozen waffles, Super Pretzels, and dare I say, PopTarts, that lead me to believe that I’m no longer in control. Basically, my new self hates flavor. I’m supposed to be growing a human inside of me – not a carnival clown. Luckily for my body (and the little creature in there), I can keep down apples with peanut butter and the occasional yogurt.
aug-83-5mos
The upsetting bit of this whole thing is that food preferences are so embedded into my sense of being that their sudden disappearance and dreading each meal feels like I’ve lost a friend – A beautiful, deep-fried, spicy and dynamic friend. Also, my social life has gone out the window. Let’s just say that when you’re nibbling on the bread basket and sipping seltzer, while your friends want to indulge in poutine and beer, you kind of suck the life out of the party. It’s a bummer. So, I’ll just sit here alone with my crackers and PopTarts trying not to throw up.

I know, I’m getting a little melodramatic. I also know that this is temporary. Or so they say, whoever “they” might be. I love this little alien inside of me more than all the foie gras in France, more than all the bubbles in champagne and more than Keebler elves love E.L.Fudge, but I can’t wait to be reunited with real food. In the meantime, I ask that you take a moment and thank your functioning taste buds, stomach and bowels. Drink a glass of wine for me and always eat with lots of great flavor.

barbie1957nana_mom_auntbarb

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Just Keeping it Down

  1. Veronica Riffle

    Wow! Congratulations. I wish you all the best in the coming months and you may find your appetite returning ten fold soon! Cheers!

  2. Laura Holliwell

    Oh Marissa I LOVE your blogs, so talented you are! I killed myself laughing at the Popsicles which I lived on 40 years ago when I was carrying my first little alien who is now a father of 3 girls himself! My Popsicles had to be green! Green grapes and chicken chow mein and soda crackers rounded out my food choices for just over 3 months!
    Congratulations….you’ll find it is all worth it in the end!

  3. Tom Best

    So is that you in the pictures? Pretzels are great with peanut butter and black cherry seltzer!

    • Marissa Sertich

      They’re pictures of all different family members…my brother, mom, aunt. The only one of me is at the top passed out on the floor!

  4. Malou Suskin

    Félicitations Marissa. This period of time is nasty but what a reward at the end. Look at my daughter-in-law’s story on my Facebook page. It may make you feel lucky you do not have to go through what she had. Your tastebuds are just taking a vacation.

Leave a Reply

