Creature Cakes: Little Bear and Pork Chop

I have always been prone to uncontrollable laughing fits.  In school, it was not unusual for a teacher to make a perfectly sedate and sane statement, and suddenly, I’d be convulsing, snorting and tearing, while receiving puzzled looks from confused classmates.  If the teacher asked what was funny, I could never articulate how some unassuming word like “pencil,” or “algebra,” or “hobbyhorse,” had metamorphosed after traveling through the pachinko machine in my brain.  Ding ding ding ding.  All of a sudden the absurdity I’d mentally drawn on a seemingly normal scenario had me laughing, rather hysterically.

 

This pattern continued throughout college and I can not tell you have many times I’ve been excused from a lecture to “cool off in the hallway and go get a sip of water.”  To this day, even at work, I am prone to these spells.  Just the other day while bermixing a large stockpot of raspberry syrup, an episode was triggered, by who knows what, except that I felt like I was stirring a cauldron, what if witch’s used immersion blenders, I’d watched the movie “Stripes” the previous night, then someone sneezed and ding ding ding ding – completely unfunny thoughts and actions joined together into one weird mental whatnot.

 

I have a theory this why I like giving cakes faces so much.  Drawing eyes on chocolate truffles, giving a marshmallow a nose, or a cake some claws is the best way I know how to show you how the inner-pachinko machine functions.


This past weekend, I was offered a job to make cake for a co-worker.  It was for his back-yard pig roast and I was given complete creative liberty.   My first natural question was, “do you mind if I give the cake teeth?”   My co-worker, whom I believe might have an inner Lite-Brite, really liked the idea of creature-like cake, so I eagerly went to work.

Marzipan eyes, gum-paste teeth, and brightly colored frosting-fur – I am also of the firm belief that a Creature Cake should have a “creature companion.”  Buddy had a little bird and this cake, whom I shall call, “Pork Chop,” would have a little bear.   So, I crafted a little marzipan bear to sit on his shoulder.

 

Here is the result….

 

So, the next time I think about something and I laugh, and then the other people filling their cars up with gas wonder what’s so funny about that gas pump, you might think of Pork Chop and maybe you’ll laugh too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment